Sometimes Victory is Bittersweet

by Paul Thompson

A few days ago I won the accolade of being Men’s Runner of the Year, 45-49 Age Group for the 2012 season at the New York Road Runners (NYRR) Club Night. It was one of my goals of 2012 so it was mission accomplished. But any desire to celebrate was tempered by a dogged injury.

20130309-173428.jpg

I’ve won the award for 6 straight years, every year since I turned 40 back in December 2005. My aim is to make it 10 out of 10 during my 40s. But these past few weeks I’ve come to realize that the biggest hurdle to achieving this is unlikely to be my ability to sustain the motivation and training nor is it likely to be my competitors, formidable as they are. Rather the greatest obstacle could be injury.

A month ago I felt invincible as I racked up the quantity and quality of my training. In January I was running 75-90 miles week and pushing low 5 minutes per mile (MPM) at the end of long tempo sessions. Now I have been humbled by piriformis syndrome which has so far proved hard to budge.

And so here I am in Boulder CO.. What was to be a long hard weekend of training as a final platform for a crack at running the London Marathon under 2:30, bag a PR and win the M45-49 age group has instead turned into a rehabilitation camp.

This morning, during a snow storm, I ran 6 miles at 8 MPM. And it did not feel anything like as easy as the pace would suggest. The past month I have run barely 40 miles versus over 300 in January. I’m now stretching.

The moral of the story is that when you are feeling invincible and lauding it over others you are at your most vulnerable and all set for a fall. As my mum would say “don’t get too big for your boots”.

20130309-194146.jpg

Leave a Reply

