Race Report: NYRR Five-Borough Series – Bronx 10-Mile, New York, September 27, 2015

by Paul Thompson

This race came as a timely shot in the arm. Perhaps I shouldn’t have been surprised. After all I’d put in a good few months training with many 70 mile training weeks and spent last weekend training in Boulder. But confidence was low on back of some mediocre performances at distances below my bandwidth, like the Fifth Avenue Mile. I’d also not raced at a distance of 10 miles or more since November 2013 so I was in uncharted waters. But an ‘easy’ opening mile in 5:18 put all my concerns to rest: the engine room had plenty of horsepower. I ended the day with my best ever age-graded (AG) performance.

It's been 3 years since Paul last raced in this borough

It’s been 3 years since Paul last raced in this borough

The Bronx 10-Mile is a classic race. Classic in distance – a rarely run imperial distance that harks back to Chariots of Fire days. And classic in venue – much of the out and back course (Download Course Map (PDF)), gently undulating with a 600 meter steady incline just after the 10k mark, is on the Grand Concourse, the borough’s main artery. A record field of over 9,300 toed the line and, thanks in part to prize money and being a part of the NYRR Club Championship series, was loaded with talent. So it was no surprise that course records would tumble – Ayele Megersa Feisa setting a new mark for men in 48:18 and Salome Koskei for the women’s in 56:57.

They're off and some really mean business

They’re off and some really mean business

The course record looked vulnerable barely a mile into the race. As I passed the mile mark in 5:18 the leading two, sporting bright yellow tops, were over 100 meters ahead of me. In the early miles I settled into running 5:18-22 pace and by three miles I was running in a 5 main pack pack including Michael Cassidy, Brent Frissora and Bobby Asher.

While running relaxed, strong and confident I was in the company of guys that, in recent years at least, typically beat me. That left me wondering whether I was out of my depth. Turns out I was not. During the approximately 2.5 mile section that’s not run on the Grand Concourse, I emerged as the driving force of the pack. I passed 5 miles in 26:57, an average of 5:24 mpm. By the time we got back onto the Grand Concourse at around 6.5 miles I  was edging away from the pack. Unfortunately I had no one to chase: I could barely see the runner ahead.

The route back was slightly net downhill and we had a tail wind filling our sails. The roadway on the other side was full of runners headed out, many cheering us on. As I reached 8 miles I realized I had stepped up the pace to 5:20 mpm. I seemed to be clear of my chasers. I was wrong. Soon after Michael Cassidy came cruising past and went on the open a big gap.  With the finishing line in sight I dug deep and found that long lost sprint finish. I crossed the line in 53:36, 40 seconds faster than my last Bronx 10 in 2012. The pictures capture the finale.

Sprinting hard for the finish line

Sprinting hard for the finish line

This was my best race performance for sometime. I was first masters, 13th overall (lucky for some), first age grade on 93.26% and ranks me second on the UK rankings in 2015 for M45-49. But more importantly the Warren Street team boasted PRs for Sam Lynch (5th overall in 50:40), Carlo Agostinetto (54:57), Aaron Mendelsohn (56:17), Alex Lorton (58:10), Paul Sorace (64:17) and Michael Watling (67:14) and secured 3rd open team (Sam, Carlo, Aaron, Alex and I) and 1st masters (Aaron, Peter Heimgartner (60:07) and I). I was in the minority without a PR! How’s that?

Warren Street, and friend Christopher Stewart (UA), team photo

Warren Street and friends team photo (clockwise from top left – Christopher Stewart (Urban Athletics), Aaron, me, Alex, Fabio Casadio and Carlo

For my post race warm down I ran down the Grand Concourse with Aaron to Marcus Garvey Park where Sham had parked the car. There I waited for Sham and her running buddy Kelly Gould to run / walk their way back. As they came into view Kelly’s smile was as wide as Madison Avenue. And she had good reason, running 1:23:22, a 7 minute PR!

Kelly Gould was ecstatic with a 7 minute PR

Kelly Gould was ecstatic thanks to a 7 minute PR

Back home Sham – coach, manager, driver, camera woman – turned chef. She whisked up a brunch of egg and sausage on home-baked bread washed down with mimosas.

No better way to follow a race with brunch

No better way to follow a race with brunch thanks to Sham

4 responses to “Race Report: NYRR Five-Borough Series – Bronx 10-Mile, New York, September 27, 2015

  1. Pingback: Race Report: 2015 Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Fred’s Team Presents Grete’s Great Gallop (13.1M), New York, October 3, 2015 | Live Boulder Run Bolder

  2. Pingback: Race Report: NYRR Ted Corbitt 15K, New York, December 12, 2015 | Live Boulder Run Bolder

  3. Pingback: Race Report: 2016 New Balance Bronx 10 Mile, New York, September 25, 2016 | Live Boulder Run Bolder

  4. Pingback: Race Report: UAE Healthy Kidney 10K, New York, April 9, 2017 | Live Boulder Run Bolder

Leave a Reply

